Dragonfriend by Marc Secchia [Review]

Stabbed. Burned by a dragon. Abandoned for the windrocs to pick over. The traitor Ra’aba tried to silence Hualiama forever. But he reckoned without the strength of a dragonet’s paw, and the courage of a girl who refused to die.

Only an extraordinary friendship will save Hualiama’s beloved kingdom of Fra’anior and restore the King to the Onyx Throne. Flicker, the valiant dragonet. Hualiama, a foundling, adopted into the royal family. The power of a friendship which paid the ultimate price.

This is the tale of Hualiama Dragonfriend, and a love which became legend.

[blurb + img src]

I like how segmented it is in regards to the chapters. Makes it easier to consume and feels less daunting especially for the age range that I think would like it. 11-14 years old is about right. And it has an intricate map at the start so you know it’s gonna get bananas up in here.

marty[img src: unknown]

I get i’ts an intense bond between the dragon and Lia but I keep reading it like inter species Love and its wigging me out.. The language is very high fantasy, like renaissance fair language. A lot of AYE and polite exclamations and the like. I get that its high fantasy and maybe I’m just not used to it but I found it kind of grating to hear Lia constantly speak like that since she’s 15…

I didn’t like how quick her love for Ja-Al happened. It didn’t feel organic. I know there’s a time jump. It just doesn’t flow properly. I’m not a romantic person anyway so maybe its just me. Also I felt weird about the fact that she was written as drooling over the young monks and lamenting their vows of celibacy and how they were such fine specimens etc… It felt kinda out of character….

And can the middle aged cis-male author just never mention her breasts again please thanks. It made me wanna barf… It’s so weird and even though 15 year old girls think about their boobs in similar contexts, it still feels wrong for her lil’ dragon, Flicker to notice and mention it to tease her about it. Maybe it’s my own bias but I think butt jokes like, she’s so “thick” or stick legs or whatever is just kinda weird in this situation. Just less graphic sexualisation and objectification please.

f
[img src: unknown]

WHY does she say sweet when she was just saying thee and having regal speech patterns??!?

I do love Flicker though. What a beast, I adore him. I see him looking like Spyro in my head though heh. Flicker’s love for her has gotten less furry as the book progressed and I’m glad. It’s now how I imagine real life pets would be like if they could talk.

I’m really getting into the world too. I mean it had a map at the start so that made me set my world building expectations a bit higher. I love the dragon descriptions too!! They remind me of Naomi Novik’s descriptions in her Temeraire series and I guess the dragon human bond is somewhat similar in those books too.

Lia is described as having straight platinum blonde hair and at one point Inniora says she wishes she had some of her curves, and if I remember correctly, Lia even says she wasn’t as pretty as her sister, like not as lithe. Even though she seems like she’d be muscly what with her palace battle training and even post monastery training, she is not as bulky as Inniora.

So I’m guessing she’s also kinda fat too. Which I love the idea of!! I think she’s probably an average height like maybe 5’3 since she’s 15/16. And I assume she’ll get taller, so I see her body type as being this one girl from the comic rat queens. BUT I can’t place an actor for her to visualize her in my head. Although I see Ja-Al like the new Ghost Rider in Marvel comics, Robbie Reyes, in my head. Like an alternate universe Zayn Malik. Ra-abal the bad guy is like Sean Bean in my head.

1
[img src: unknown]

WHAT A SAD ENDING. WTF AW MAN.  Oh Flicker my precious bantersaurus. My annoying asshole baby, my SINnamon bun. I’LL MISS YA.

Overall it’s quite enjoyable and it was more interesting than I thought it would be. I wish that ‘weird’ and ‘sweet’ in the dialogue were replaced with more appropriate versions like ‘strange’ and ‘excellent’ or even ‘mother’ or ‘father’ instead of ‘mom’ and ‘dad’…. It just felt a bit off to me.

In hindsight I think that Lia and Grandion, THE DRAGON, were in love – which lowers my 4 to a 3 to be honest. Not really here for inter species loving. It’s just… weird… Not my kind of fantasy or the kind I want to read either. It just wigs me out. WELL DONE TO AMARYLLION FOR FIXING THAT AT THE END. A big ass dragon is not really an ideal boyfriend for a teen especially if the partner in question is 20 years old.

GIRLS IF A GUY IS NOT A TEENAGER AND YOU ARE A TEENAGER DO. NOT. DATE. HIM. JUST DONT. He shouldn’t be dating teens in his 20s. It’s just not right. I don’t care how mature you feel. It is not right. And the people in their 20s are old enough to know this, so shame on them. This also applies to teen boys and 20 something women. JUST DON’T GUYS.

Ugh why’d you have to ruin this fun book Mechia, by making her fall in love with a DRAGON, who is far too old for her anyway. Also knowing that makes my initial “ew was that necessary” at Lia being teased about boys finding her boobs and butt attractive by the dragons and being tricked by Grandion to strip because of the fire ants biting her is a LOT MORE EW. Why ugh who thought this would be ok…

tumblr_lxo7ydjfYn1qjuuqbo2_250
[img src: unknown]

Still gonna give it a 3 though because it’s pretty easy to ignore that gross stuff for like 98% of the novel.

DRAGONFRIEND: 📘 📘 📘 3 Books!

💰Buy it from:

💸 Book Depository
💸 Amazon UK / USA

“Even now I'm not really sure which parts of myself are real and which parts are things I've gotten from books.” - [Beatrice Sparks] Go Ask Alice 🍃☕

