London Book Crawl 2015: Persephone Books + Word on the Water + Skoob [IRL Adventures]

This is part of a little series where I show you my “Book Crawling” adventures in London!!

Before I left to return home for the year, I made it a point to go around and visit my favourite bookstores one last time, and try to find some others I hadn’t visited yet!!

Hopefully you get a kick out of these posts and if you get to visit London, you get to check out these bookstores too!!

E N J O Y 😁

tumblr_inline_mkvntak0yo1qz4rgp
[img src: unknown]

WARNING: PICTURE HEAVY POST!

 

PERSEPHONE BOOKS – persephonebooks.co.uk
59 Lamb’s Conduit Street WC1N 3NB

I LOVE THIS BOOKSTORE!!! I want every single book they have. EVERY. SINGLE. ONE.

persephone bks

Persephone Books reprints neglected fiction and non-fiction by mid-twentieth century (mostly) women writers. All of our 115 books are intelligent, thought-provoking and beautifully written and are chosen to appeal to busy people wanting titles that are neither too literary nor too commercial. We publish novels, short stories, diaries, memoirs and cookery books; each has an elegant grey jacket, a ‘fabric’ endpaper with matching bookmark, and a preface by writers such as Jilly Cooper, David Kynaston and Elaine Showalter.

 

persephone bks (3)

It’s in such a cute little area too! The inside of the store is so homey and friendly. It feels like it’s been lived in by someones eccentric writer aunt. But in a good way.

persephone bks (6)

I love how the books are printed, plain grey and unassuming but on the inside, they have these lovely patterns!! Some of their books are available as ebooks, but where’s the fun in that?

persephone bks (5)

They also do this really lovely thing where you can subscribe to them and they’ll send you a book a month for 6 or 12 months. I brought this up to my mum when we visited and she just looked at me and said, So what about all those OTHER books you have on your shelf? 

tumblr_m56443kV1r1rpgra9[img src: unknown]

 


 

 

WORD ON THE WATER – fb.com/wordonthewater
Goods Way, King’s Cross N1C 4AA

Word on the Water is such a cute and lovely little book barge! It’s a bit hard to find, or at least it was for me. I think it’s because it’s along the river so you have to do a lot of swerving around to find it.

Untitled

Books wise, they have a decent selection as they have used books. Quite a few are a bit dusty and musty but that’s kind of the norm with used books sooooo

11223644_10155856847435595_4020705743898730822_n

ALSO: if you love dogs there are a lot of dogs in the area that come by during their walkies and I think the shop also has a dog of their own!!

 


 

SKOOB BOOKS – skoob.com
66 The Brunswick, off Marchmont St WC1N 1AE

Probably THE BEST second hand bookstore in London if you’re looking for cheap academic books. It’s also so lovely to get lost in. It has such a great ambiance.

skoob bks (3)

This is a view of their above ground entrance:

skoob bks (5)

Loved this poster next to the stairs, I COULDN’T RESIST:

And now the inside!!!

skoob bks (10) skoob bks (11)
skoob bks (12) skoob bks (17)

Gotta love their categorisation:

skoob bks (14)

skoob bks (16)

This bookstore is just so fun to spend an afternoon looking through.

200[img src: unknown]

 


 

 

BONUS: PLATFORM 9 ¾ – Kings Cross

Well I was in the area so I thought, WHY NOT. I’m sure someone on the internet will enjoy the photos when I eventually post them.

So these are the actual platforms 9 and 10. At their new location. The whole of Kings Cross was revamped some years back, so it is now on the far left of the station, if my memory serves me right.

PLATFORM 9 3 4 (1)

NO MATTER WHAT ANYONE SAYS that wall is the most likely entrance to Platform 9 ¾. And right opposite it is the WB Harry Potter gift shop. Which has a really good selection of stuff! Some of which I think is even sold at the studio tour. 👍

And here are some muggles having fun:

 

THAT’S ALL OF PART 2 FOLKS!

tumblr_lpdax3U9k01qbhetko1_400
[img src: unknown]
“Even now I'm not really sure which parts of myself are real and which parts are things I've gotten from books.” - [Beatrice Sparks] Go Ask Alice 🍃☕

