Monthly Roundup ↪ Jan ⌚😫

I really really REALLY underestimated how busy I would get working at the national paper as a photojournalist intern/temp… Working a 10 hour day is the norm and getting to come home at 6-7pm for dinner is a lucky break. And I’m not even doing early or late night shifts yet!!

tumblr_inline_nt52pg0rL51rjljqx_500
[img src: unknown]

It’s madness but I’m enjoying it so there’s that. I’ve also been able to shoot a few stories that are book related and I’ll eventually post them up here since they are what I’d call a “Local Love”. One is a restaurant and the other is an author!

Despite my hectic schedule I managed to read 4 of my short books from my January TBR post, which even though is not even close to what my goal was, I also read 2 books that were longer than 200 pages. So I guess it’s not all bad. I’m just going to transfer that TBR challenge to February and try and read more in-between travelling to jobs during the week.

OK BOOK TIME!

tumblr_lj1v6qCfzs1qi9trko1_250
[img src: unknown]

WINDS OF FATE
by Mercedes Lackey 😏🐦✨

I uh.. ahh… Did not like this one as much as the Heralds of Valdemar trilogy… And it’s not because Talia is out of the picture and it focuses on Eslepth, this one was a lot slower and confusing. It has a split narrative for most of the book where you go from Elspeth to Darkwind and back again and even some interludes which are both??? I was SO confused for the first couple of times that it went to Darkwind because there were so many names and new lingo and I just couldn’t really visualise most of what was going on!!! There was also a lot of weird romantic-angst subplots the didn’t go anywhere or get resolved and a good portion of the book was Skif and Elspeth bickering with the occasional Companion joining in, while travelling. I’ll likely read the next one in this trilogy but not just yet.

📘 📘 📘 3 Books!

[img src]

 

IN THEIR SHOES: FAIRY TALES AND FOLKTALES
published by Pushkin Press 📜👢🏰

So this was not at all what I was expecting or hoping it would be. I knew most of the “original” fairy tales that were included, and I was hoping that there would be more of a variety or at least ones I hadn’t read of before. Whatever, I guess it makes sense that it was more or less created for the Shoe Exhibition at the V&A. I’ll probably try and gift this to someone else or donate it somewhere.

📘 📘 2 Books!

[img src]

 

THE BRAVE AFRICAN HUNTRESS
by Amos Tutuola 👹💪🏿🔪

This was unfortunately another disappointment. It read very strangely. After reading I found out that the writer often wrote using the grammar of Yoruba oral story telling rather than english grammar, which makes sense. At the time of reading I was very confused with the writing style, it felt like something you’d read to a kid before bed in hopes that they’d go to sleep, as in it had long winding sentences and often repeated something that was said in the other sentence and what not.

I mean it was interesting I suppose, very different to my usual fare. But I just could not enjoy it as much as I was hoping to. 😩

📘 📘 2 Books!

[img src]

 

IN OTHER WORLDS: SF AND THE HUMAN IMAGINATION
by Margaret Atwood 👽🚀🖖🏼

So a while back a friend of mine suggested this book to me via GoodReads, so thank you to my Jewish husband, Jenny from the Block. I LOVE YOU AND I MISS YOU!!!

Untitled2

This book should be compulsory reading for all fans of SciFi if you ask me. Whether you consume most of your SFF through games or TV or even comics, you really really REALLY should read this. Ms Atwood is a legend and knows what she is talking about so you best get comfy and listen up to what she’s put down here for all of y’all to read.

PS If you’re a writer who enjoys or even writes SFF you should 100% read this. DON’T DELAY! READ TODAY!!!!!

📘 📘 📘 📘 📘 5 Books!

[img src]

 

THE WOMAN NOVELIST & OTHER STORIES
by Diana Gardner 📚✒️👩

I really do love Persphone Press. They are doing such a good thing. This book though, is probably not one of their best, at least for me. It’s an anthology of short stories by Diana Gardner and most of them are quite sad or bitter. A few are kinda amusing and left me smirking to myself, which probably looked strange. But for the most part, I think it’s safe to call this book melancholic. Which even though I love that kind of thing normally, this was like melancholy but with the taste of bitterness. I dunno, melancholy is usually not THAT bitter, but this was. WELP.

📘 📘 2 Books!

[img src]

 

ASTONISHING THE GODS
by Ben Okri 👼😲🙏

Yeah not much to say about this one other than I couldn’t get into it. I get it’s like magical realism and obviously a novella, but I dunno, maybe I’m not ‘spiritual’ enough to get it?? There was a lot of talk of angels and seraphim and holy places that I was just like 😕😵😕😵 the whole time reading this. Maybe I should recommend it to my mum and get her to explain her interpretation of it because I honestly did not get this book at all. Doesn’t make it bad though!

📘 1 Book!

[img src]

 

“Even now I'm not really sure which parts of myself are real and which parts are things I've gotten from books.” - [Beatrice Sparks] Go Ask Alice 🍃☕

