Miasma by Greg Cox [Review] Release: Feb 22 2016

The Enterprise-A is transporting a party of diplomats when it picks up a mysterious alien signal emanating from a nearby world. The planet’s dense, impenetrable atmosphere makes it unclear if the beacon is a distress signal, an invitation—or a warning to stay away. Spock, Doctor McCoy, and Chekov are part of a team sent to investigate, but an unexpected catastrophe forces a crash landing. Now the landing party is stranded on a hostile world, unable to communicate with the Enterprise. While Captain Kirk and Saavik race to locate the lost crew, a badly wounded Spock struggles to keep McCoy and the others alive until they can be rescued, even if that means making an unthinkable sacrifice…

[blurb + img src]

RIGHT So I am a big ol’ Star Trek nerd, aka a Trekkie. Or Trekker depending on who you talk to, but I think we can all agree that Trekkie sounds better and cuter. So when I saw on Net Galley that there was an ARC for a new Star Trek novel e-book written BECAUSE the 50th anniversary of Star Trek is this year, I knew I had to read it.

tumblr_laiu65Ae7s1qav6f6
[img src: unknown]

This adventure features the original Star Trek crew, as in Kirk, Spock and Bones. Although I must add that this story is way more Spock + Bones centric. And the characterizations are pretty accurate as far as I’m concerned. OH and Saavik 2.0, as in the Saavik from The Search for Spock is featured in this book, so if I’m not mistaken this adventure is meant to be set just before The Undiscovered Country film!

And not gonna lie, I prefer Robin Curtis as Saavik over Kirstie Alley. She’s kinda prettier and told me once I looked cute in hot pants.

Basically in this novel, Kirk has to placate a bunch of V.I.P.’s while his besto friendos are stranded and possibly injured on an uncharted planet that they decided to check out as it was emitting some sort of signal. Unbeknownst to Kirk, and the approaching landing party, the planet is full of dangerous leech creatures and is shrouded in a highly combustible fog.  Which to be quite honest, all sounds very much like a typical episode from the original series.

tumblr_mm5ur00qZ41qflgbho1_250
[img src: unknown]

My favourite thing about these kinds of media tie in books, that are essentially like published FanFic if we are being perfectly honest here, are the original diverse characters that people create. It’s so easy to be diverse in this way!! Like, you don’t even have to think up a new planet or alien race of body language or even what kind of important features they have that you’ll need to describe. Earth still exists in this universe!! Just choose a country and you’re set!!! In this book there is an Ensign called Darwa who is an Indian lady!!! SEE GUYS IT’S NOT THAT HARD TO BE DIVERSE!!!!

tumblr_loo2kavPqn1qb1jdm
[img src: unknown]

I was kinda disappointed by this book though… I mean it was fun!! But it was very short and it felt like there was a lot that was missing that could have been there. I read it on my phone using the Aldiko App and it said it was only 92 pages long!!

It would have been neat if there would have been a bit more elaboration on the people who sent out the signal in the first place, like a bit more on why they were there, or more of Kirk on the ship talking to the delegates or giving a bit more information on what the Enterprise’s original mission was and who they were ferrying, or even some different points of views like Uhura on the bridge and what not!!!

tumblr_lbhzxvjWxH1qbjby4
[img src: unknown]

I can only give this a rating of 3 out of 5 because even though it was fun to read, and the characters are accurate in personality, BUT Greg Cox has a tendency in this book to constantly, and I mean CONSTANTLY reference Star Trek Canon. Maybe that is a good thing if you’re a new or casual fan, but I feel it’s a bit excessive… It feels like it’s a good chunk of the novel too. Which isn’t really a good thing… It kept throwing me off while I was reading because I felt like I kept having to remember about an old thing rather than have something ring a bell or not. It was kind of like constantly reading footnotes!!

LONG STORY SHOT: A fun short Trek romp but I’m not sure I’d pay money for it unless it was a bit longer. This is closer to actual internet FanFic than the novels that are published by Pocket Books

tumblr_m9ts5r8RQS1qd6v0do8_250
[img src: unknown]

STAR TREK: MIASMA : 📘 📘 📘 3 Books!

💰Buy it from:

💸 Amazon UK / USA

“Even now I'm not really sure which parts of myself are real and which parts are things I've gotten from books.” - [Beatrice Sparks] Go Ask Alice 🍃☕

