All Saints Home Charity Carnival [IRL Adventures]

In which I befriend a bunch of 10 year olds, get hit on by one, do the lords work by getting them to read Calvin and Hobbes and Roald Dahl, and get asked to take selfies with a bunch of others.

Honestly I loved getting to shoot this story even if it was a small article. It gave me such a warm fuzzy feeling to know that elementary school kidsย stillย get excited over books AND reading them!!

tumblr_lzvk51x2EL1qf6qby[img src: unknown]

slbook27

slbook27

slbook27

Honestly the way these kids got excited digging around all the boxes looking for books gave me so much LIFE. I FELT SO REJUVENATED. YES MY CHILDREN!!! READ!!! REAAAAD!!!!

ST26022016_1605741933/slbook27/Tamara Craiu/Sheryl Lee TT// All Saints Home is conducting a Charity Book Carnival from 26-27 Feb. Underprivileged children will be able to pick up books for free on 26 Feb and the carnival will be open to the public on 27 Feb.  The books were donated by a second-hand bookshop owner and the collection spans more than 40 years, with many "rare and good" books. Photo by Tamara Craiu

slbook27

I even managed to snag a few books for myself!! And all for only SG$6!!!

wp-1456817948872.jpg

THE MAMMOTH BOOK OF NEW COMIC FANTASY

How could I NOT get this??? Look at that cover!! Look at that author list!! And for 2 bucks I don’t lose anything as far as I’m concerned.

wp-1456817959942.jpg

MONTY PYTHON’S FLYING CIRCUS: JUST THE WORDS

I grabbed this mostly because I thought my dad would be into reading it, but also because it felt like a fun book to own. Now I’m not sure if I’ll ever read it but I totally want to!! Well at least I’d want to keep it around to browse every so often.

wp-1456817969339.jpg

THE BOOK OF THE CITY OF LADIES

So this has been on my to-read list for a while now and I found it in my local library, but it had been rented out, after which I promptly forgot about it.. BUT NOW IT’S MINE!!! YAY!!

slbook27

slbook27

slbook27

The article can be found online HERE but here are some excerpts:

Ten-year-old Winson Tan visits Yishun library every month to read books on two of his favourite topics, sharks and dinosaurs.ย Last Friday, the Xishan Primary School pupil got to choose books on these topics at a charity carnival and take them home for free.ย He was among 50 underprivileged schoolchildren from seven schools in Yishun who were able to pick from about 40,000 books before they went on sale to the public on Saturday.

The four-day book carnival, organised by the All Saints Home at its Yishun nursing home, ended on Monday…ย The books were donated by second-hand bookshop owner Yap Hui Hong, 65.ย She had amassed the collection along with her late husband, Mr Aravinakhsan Nair…ย Xishan Primary’s discipline master Gabriel Chua, who accompanied the pupils on their trip last Friday, said the book carnival was especially meaningful for them.ย “We told the pupils Madam Yap’s story before coming on this trip. It’s an opportunity for us to teach them the concept of ‘paying it forward’,” he said.

Zen Lim, 11, a Primary 5 pupil at Northland Primary School, said: “I really like horror and mystery books because they keep me in suspense. But I don’t have a lot of books at home. My dad doesn’t work any more, so it’s hard for us to go out and buy books.”

[txt src: sheryl lee]

 

โ€œEven now I'm not really sure which parts of myself are real and which parts are things I've gotten from books.โ€ - [Beatrice Sparks] Go Ask Alice ๐Ÿƒโ˜•

