A Daring Sacrifice by Jody Hedlund [Review]

 

For three years, the Cloaked Bandit has terrorized Wessex, robbing the nobility by knife-point and a well-placed arrow. But little dos anyone know, this bandit is in fact Juliana Wessex, the rightful ruler of the land and a girl her tyrannical uncle—the current Lord Wessex—believes was killed along with her father.

Juliana has become skilled at hiding from Lord Wessex in the forest, using her stolen goods to provide food and shelter to the peasants her uncle has taxed into poverty. But when she robs Collin Goodrich, her red hair betrays her true identity. Lord Collin remembers Juliana from their childhood—and challenges her to stay on his estate for a week in hopes she will leave her thieving ways and become a proper lady once more. Juliana is intrigued by Collin and his charms, but only time will tell if he can overcome her distaste of the nobility—as well as win her heart.

[blurb + img src]

First off: thanks to NetGalley for this book!! It was a fun romp that I easily devoured in a sleep deprived haze a couple of mornings ago and I was glad for it’s company.

tumblr_la85frAnu41qzng9qBonus points to you if you know the relevance of this gif to this book…
[img src: unknown]

Right so I actually don’t remember requesting this on NetGalley, WHICH is not a bad thing, because I have a very bad case of “grabby hands” on NetGalley and end up requesting SO MANY books at a time. So I end up getting this emails of confirmations and I’m just like ???? I DON’T REMEMBER YOU BUT COOL!!

tumblr_lqgvjfarbt1qbv037[img src: kcgreen]

In this case I was very ok with it because it sounded fun!! A medieval historical fiction novel about a female Robin Hood! I was hoping that at least that part could redeem the novel to make it interesting enough for me to want to finish it. Luckily it did!

The way Jody Hedlund writes is really fun and doesn’t dwell too much on unnecessary descriptions, which I find tends to be very common with people who write historical fiction. I mean, I love descriptions! I’m a visual person, I enjoy having that guidance so I can conjure the book up in my head like a little movie, but every once in a while someone goes overboard and I end up focusing too much on trying to remember everything instead of trying to follow the story instead…

I also found out after reading that this is classified as a Christian Fiction book…??? Like I guess??? But it’s set in Medieval times so it would be weird to ignore that part of the setting… So yeah ok if we’re being pedantic, yes it is a Christian Fiction book. But it is by no means the main focus. Not really sure why that was important for the publishers to label it as such but whatever I guess. I don’t really know this publishing house well!

ANYWAY it is a very fun book and I actually started reading it on my phone because I noticed that my e-copy had like 10 days left of access and since, like I mentioned above, I couldn’t sleep, I thought I’d start reading it since I wouldn’t have to sit up and hold a book.

It was incredibly predictable. I’ll be upfront about it. Not because everyone knows the tale of Robin Hood and his merry men, or that sooo many people have seen the Disney adaptation either, but the story was just so incredibly transparent! You could instantly tell what was going to happen from moment to moment.

Not that it was an incredibly terrible thing though. Again, it was really fun to read, it’s just that if you’re looking for something with like, heart stopping adventure or crazy fun fights and stuff, this really isn’t the book for you.

This reads more like Mills & Boon Lite type story. Which really isn’t my type of thing. So that’s why I’m very glad that it wasn’t just some random historical romance story and that it was mostly about a female Robin Hood!!

BASICALLY it was a really fun read that I ended up finishing in one go in the wee hours of the morning when I couldn’t sleep, and it was fun enough that it kept my attention! But I wouldn’t really read it again, or read anything from the publisher or author for that matter. Nothing against them, it’s just not my type of normal book and I can’t really see myself reading another from this family. Especially now that I know what to expect even if the premise is interesting enough. Like a lady Robin Hood.

tumblr_lbhzxvjWxH1qbjby4[img src: unknown]

TL;DR – Lady Robin Hood does the usual stuff, is a cool character, ends up falling for a boy, there is kissing involved, some graphic stuff in terms of torture at the end, but everything ends up being alright and I think a sequel is coming eventually. Yeah. That’s it basically. Buy it for your mum maybe. ✌🏼

A DARING SACRIFICE: 📘 📘 2 Books!

💰Buy it from:

💸 Book Depository
💸 Amazon UK / USA

One thought on “A Daring Sacrifice by Jody Hedlund [Review]

“Even now I'm not really sure which parts of myself are real and which parts are things I've gotten from books.” - [Beatrice Sparks] Go Ask Alice 🍃☕

