Top 5 Fictional Londons [Literary Lists]

Currently I’m living at home again in Singapore. And I really really REALLY miss London.

I spent about 5 years doing a foundation degree and then completing my undergraduate degree there, up until last year when I moved back home. I made a lot of close friends and had a lot of fun adventures, and now I am half a world away and Sad.

tumblr_lu0lqu30Pq1qid3c0
Moving illustration of the Sad Slug position. [img src: unknown]

SO to make me feel better I decided to compile into a list, in no particular order, my top 5 fictional novels that are set in London!!


[ 1 ] NEVERWHERE by Neil Gaiman

I used to live near to Angel station at the same time that I read this for the first time and it gave me a new way of looking at London, albiet a fictional one! I still think about this London every once in a while when I’m walking around the ‘real’ London.

⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩

[ 2 ] THE PICTURE OF DORIAN GREY by Oscar Wilde

While this London isn’t as fictional as the Neverwhere London, it still is one where Dorian Grey threw the best parties of Victorian England. The London Wilde writes about is very typically Victorian, but also it feels a bit unhinged in an exciting way. Pls invite me to your parties Dorian. I promise I’ll bring wine!!!

⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩

[ 3 ] THE AMULET OF SAMARKAND by Jonathan Stroud

This London has magic!! AND DJINN!!! And it’s a slightly more grim and dark magical London as compared to the one in Harry Potter for example. Which is exciting because when I first read this as a kid that was basically the main type of wizarding world you could find in books.

⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩

[ 4 ] MAURICE by E.M. Forster

Oh Maurice. Sweet sweet Maurice. This is the London I’d visit if I wanted some sad queer drama in my life, like the kind of drama you reach for when you’re in Shark Week and the like. So you sit there and eat everything that is bad for you watching other peoples drama and maybe getting involved and then feeling sorry for yourself when everyone gets a nice ending BUT YOU.

⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩ ⏩

[ 5 ] THE BFG by Roald Dahl

There are just some books that stay with you for your entire life and quite a number of those books for me, have been by Roald Dahl. Including this one about the big friendly giant. I wanted to live in a world where I, a small pale girl who was very weird and not cool, could make friends with a super tall and kind and incredible being like the BFG. I’m still waiting to stumble upon a BFG in London. It’s been like 5 years, it’ll happen eventually… Right?????

“Even now I'm not really sure which parts of myself are real and which parts are things I've gotten from books.” - [Beatrice Sparks] Go Ask Alice 🍃☕

