POKE MANGO [Book Tag]

No mangoes were hurt in the answering of this tag.

 

Tag created by Aentee at ReadAtMidnight.com!

DEF has to be Charlie and the Chocolate Factory + Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator. It was my mums favourite as a kid so she insisted reading it to my sister and I when we were little. Also I’m pretty sure I ended up re-reading it myself as soon as I could read “big books” on my own!

[book img src]

To Kill a Mockingbird without a doubt. I mean also Dracula and Frankenstein, but TKAM will always have a special place in my heart. I read it in high school when I was around 14/15 years old for my GCSE English class, and the teacher I had really made it fun to LEARN about as well. It gave me a better appreciation for this book I had only just read and fell in love with.

[book img src]

Probably the Throne of Glass series. It doesn’t sound terrible or anything, I’ve just heard about it SO MUCH already I’m kinda tired of it. Also they’re such a fat books that I can’t see myself reading them anytime soon with the fading interest that I’ve currently got in them.

[book img src]

It was hard to think of one for this because I mean at the end of the day, so much SFF that I read is similar at the end of the day – dragons! magic! robots! dystopia/utopias! etc etc. BUT I feel like the Confessions of Georgia Nicolson series fits in here. It’s such a typical teen girl diary series and it’s not too remarkable in that respect, but it ALWAYS, ALWAYS without a doubt is able to get me laughing in real life while reading it.

[book img src]

The Vorkosigan Saga. THERE ARE SO MANY BOOKS!!!! AT LAST COUNT I THINK THERE ARE 15?!!??! But a good friend of mine REALLY loves this series so I know I’ll have to at least read the first book sooner rather than later… BUT STILL.

[book img src]

Dracula. The first time I read it I remember being in bed at night with my night light on, reading it with my book on my knees, with my heart thumping and I was proper spooked out. Now it’s not a horror book by today’s standards, but in the dark night of my room, I was CREEPED OUT. Also: some nights after finishing the book I was walking home at night in Singapore, and a fruit bat flew by in front of me and I freaked out because my first thought was, HE’S HERE!!!!! DRACULA IS HERE!!!!!!!!!!!

[book img src]

Honestly this is not something I think about as much as I probably should???? But off the top off my head, Ronan and Adam from The Raven Cycle series. I HAVEN’T READ THE LAST BOOK YET SO NO SPOILERS OR I WILL COME TO YOUR HOUSE AND SHIT IN YOUR BED!!!!!!! THIS IS A VERY REAL THREAT OK!!!!!!! 🔪🔪🔪

[book img src]

It’s obscene the amount of people I’ve tried to force this book on omg…. But yes, Alif the Unseen is SUCH a fun and fast paced read. FOR SURE. It’s just so damn good!!! Djinni! And hacking!!! And kickass ladies!!! And nobody is white!!! Doesn’t hurt that G Willow Wilson is a great author sO.

[book img src]

You know, at first I’d probably say HARRY POTTER!!! But now I’m not so sure anymore… I’d be totally game for a spin off for the Lady Trent series since it’s ending soon!! 😭😭😭

[book img src]

The Hollow Kingdom Trilogy by Clare B. Dunkle. I didn’t know what to expect going in, to be honest I had NO expectations other than it was apparently a very good and fun fantasy series for kids about goblins…??? But man oh man, I fell so head over  heels in love with this series. I’m not quite sure why either. Probably it was the state of mind I was in when I read it – which was not a good one hA HA! – but it ended up being exactly what I needed at that moment in time. Which is all I can really ask of a book honestly.

[book img src]

Does The Wrath and The Dawn count??? It’s a duology and the second just came out recently…? I wanted to read it when I first heard about it way back when and I just… never… got around to reading… it… oops…

[book img src]

FIRST PRINT EDITION OF DRACULA. Just because. No other reason than that. Also because I think it’d be easier to get my hands on than a first print edition of Frankenstein lololol…

[book img src]

Everfair by Nisi Shawl!! I just got a copy of it via NetGalley and I’m hyped to read it!!! It comes out on the 6th of September if I’m not mistaken and it’s the authors first novel! “explores the question of what might have come of Belgium’s disastrous colonization of the Congo if the native populations had learned about steam technology a bit earlier…” HOW DOES THIS NOT EXCITE YOU!?!?

[book img src]

There’s probably loads more I’m missing but off the top of my head, Nnedi Okorafur, Naomi Novik, China Miéville and Neil Gaiman basically always will have the contents of my wallet whenever they want it……

The Book of Dust by Philip Pullman… I will have a beard and be 85 by the time I get to read this book because it will have been published like 50 years posthumously… L O L…

[dies from waiting….]

tumblr_lkhhddRfXr1qby3ml
[img src: kate beaton]
“Even now I'm not really sure which parts of myself are real and which parts are things I've gotten from books.” - [Beatrice Sparks] Go Ask Alice 🍃☕

