Monthly Roundup β†ͺ SpOπŸŽƒktoberπŸ‘»

This month was a lot more hectic than I thought it would be. I only read 3 books.

BUT!!!! Those 3 books were all super enjoyable so I’m ok with this.

lol-duck[img src: unknown]

ZORRO
by Isabel AllendeΒ βš”βš–πŸŒŽ

I grew up watching Zorro in black and white late at night whenever we’d visit our grandparents in the states. I’m not sure what it was, but something about him, about the character, was so alluring to me. He was just so magnetic, I couldn’t figure out what it was exactly that has me so interested!! Happy to say that interest has never really waned, so here I am some 18 years later, silently screaming on finding out that there is a “fanfic” written about his origin story by an amazing author, no less.

Pretty much inhaled this book as fast as I possibly could. I personally found it so interesting to read because of the accurate historical bits. My only quibble is that the ending felt really abrupt..? There was so much buildup to Diego’s arrival back home in California that when it happened it was so quick… I still really enjoyed it anyway!!

πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜Β 4 Books!

[img src]

 

PRECIOUS DRAGON
[DETECTIVE INSPECTOR CHEN #3]
by Liz Williams πŸ²πŸ’•πŸ›

This series is honestly just SO MUCH FUN. And this third installment lived up to my expectations. I’m so glad that all the recurring and main characters had equal ‘page’ time and that it explored and expanded this hell society even more. There’s only 2 more books left in this series so I need to try and pace myself otherwise I’ll be so upset if I consume them super fast and then there are none left… 😭

πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜Β 4 Books!

[img src]

STAR TREK: CRISIS ON CENTAURUS
by Brad FergusonΒ βš•πŸš€πŸ––

Star Trek novels are always a comforting thing for me. I know who the characters are, I know more or less what to expect, and I know the world in which they live in. IΒ mean I COULD just rewatch the TV shows, but I don’t have that much time to do that – too many new shows to watch ya feel me??? – and I’d rather read about my favourites experiencing NEW adventures! So that’s why I will always come back to these tie ins.

This one in particular is my weakness because it’s about McCoy and his daughter. You give me a Star Trek story that involves the grumpy space doctor and his baby girl Joanna and I am SOLD. And this one was actually a lot of fun too!!!! It really read like a classic TOS episode and everyone was in character too. I need to find more from this author if this novel was any indication of what their Trek novels are like……….

πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜Β 4 Books!

[img src]
β€œEven now I'm not really sure which parts of myself are real and which parts are things I've gotten from books.” - [Beatrice Sparks] Go Ask Alice πŸƒβ˜•

