Reading Week in America 2017!! [IRL Adventures]

The best part of that title is that the week off from uni when I took this trip was LITERALLY called Reading Week. For those not in the know, it just means that we get a week off classes to catch up on work and various reading that we may have been assigned. Instead I decided to visit friends in the USA.

I HAVEN’T GOT MUCH TIME LEFT TO BE A CAREFREE STUDENT OK!!!!11!!


[img src: unknown]

Anyway, here are my book related adventures in the colonies wild west!

[img src: unknown]

Even though I also visited Philadelphia and Boston, I only really did book-related adventures in New York… OOPS. Blame it on the limited time and alcohol I guess.

 

BLUESTOCKINGS

I wanted to make sure I at least visited one bookstore so I decided to hit up Bluestockings!

“Bluestockings is a volunteer-powered and collectively-owned radical bookstore, fair trade cafe, and activist center in the Lower East Side of Manhattan. We carry over 6,000 titles on topics such as feminism, queer and gender studies, global capitalism, climate & environment, political theory, police and prisons, race and black studies, radical education, plus many more! You can also find some good ‘ole smutty fiction, sci-fi, and poetry . We also carry magazines, zines, journals, alternative menstrual products and other oddly hard-to-find good things.”

I think I spent a good hour and a half just walking around in circles touching everything and looking at so many books. I just… I loved it so so so much… As evidenced by the tweet I made that day:

Here is what it looks like + things I spotted:

I’m predictable ok:

I LOVED LOVED LOVED their kids books section!!!!!!!!! I was very tempted to buy books for my friends who have little kids… SO TEMPTED….

I… did end up buying a book too…. a SciFi one at that… Don’t tell my dad.. He will shame me for buying more books that add up to my unread piles…. shHhH…

This is the one I bought:

[img src: goodreads]

 

THE STRAND

❔start ↩with doubt end⏩with certainty❕

A post shared by tamara c. 👽🖖💜✨🚀 (@happentobeshort) on

I couldn’t very well visit NYC without going to The Strand now could I?????

Loved the snarky yet meaningful sign on their door:

Same went for the window display… I SEE YOU STRAND I SEE YOU. AND I APPROVE.

Their basement level reminded me a LOT of Skoob books in London!!! I think it’s probably the ‘aesthetic’ of the super bare shelves and cement floor.

The snark was strong with this one.

AND YES I DID GET BOOKS TOO OK. STOP SHAMING ME. I CAN FEEL YOU STARING AT ME AND SHAMING ME. StO p iT…….

Books I got:


[img src: goodreads]

[img src: goodreads]

[img src: goodreads]

 

I did also get a few other non book items from the strand…! Mostly a few pins and badges because I love stickers and they are the next stage for a sticker loving adult if I’m being perfectly honest. – *The READ LOCAL badge I got in London…!

 

NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY

HOW IS THIS PLACE EVEN A LIBRARY. It’s so freakin’ beautiful… I was just in such awe. I had such butterflies walking in not unlike the butterflies I felt when I visited the Trinity Library in Dublin…

Libraries always feel like sacred spaces to me, it’s probably the quiet that reminds me of the long and somewhat boring times my parents dragged us to the synagogue as kids. But unlike those trips, the library was and is mUCH better. At least to me.

But when a library looks like THIS, it just makes the feeling feel all that more real…?

I don’t know man. I just got emotional ok.

I MEAN SERIOUSLY WHAT THE HELL. HOW IS THIS A LIBRARY CEILING?!?!

Had a romantic Valentimez at the Lie Barry. 📚💞💋

A post shared by tamara c. 👽🖖💜✨🚀 (@happentobeshort) on

Kinda wish I could’ve been able to see some of the artifacts that they had in store, but obviously that wouldn’t have been possible seeing as I made no appointments, and probably have no authority to back me up… I did a lot of peeking through door windows and saw many an archive. 🤓

Hello it me, everybody’s favourite pale purple gremlin, taking selfies with lions:

 

OTHER THINGS

I am very predictable. 👀📚💞

A post shared by tamara c. 👽🖖💜✨🚀 (@happentobeshort) on

The FIRST subway train I got on in NYC after landing had a lil’ cartoon by Jillian Tamaki which made me very very happy. After that first train I think I only saw it one more time???

My only book-related photo from my time in Boston including the socks I got while in The Strand. YEAH I KNOW I GOT A LOT OF THINGS THERE BUT THEY ARE ALL GREAT AND SOLID BUYS… – *My bud in Boston goes to NE Uni so that’s why… Yeah.

 

All in all I had a grand ol’ time visiting friends and just not thinking about Life for a while. Highly recommend doing the same to anyone who needs to leave their own head-space for a bit.

[img src: unknown]
“Even now I'm not really sure which parts of myself are real and which parts are things I've gotten from books.” - [Beatrice Sparks] Go Ask Alice 🍃☕

