Monthly Roundup โ†ช Feb/March๐Ÿ˜ต

February was a mess. Busy, but a mess. I had assignments due in the first week-ish and then at the end of the second week I was off for 10 days for my reading week to visit the US. And then when I got back it was all a blur and then it wasย March…!! I didn’t really read in Feb so I’m just combining the two months in one post…


[img src: unknown]

 

NINEFOX GAMBIT
[THE MACHINERIES OF EMPIRE #1]
by Yoon Ha Leeย ๐Ÿš€๐Ÿ”ซ๐ŸŒŒ

It took me SO LONG to read this book, and not because I didn’t like it, because I found it so hard to read!! I’m not good at math and numbers confuse me and I guess ‘hard’ SciFi is quite literally hard for me to read. Basically this is a military SciFi novel about how the tactics used rely on mathematical equations and also the manipulation of the calendar???? I think. Honestly I am still a bit confused. THAT BEING SAID I love the way Yoon Ha Lee writes having read one of their shorts before and the characters and the world itself was enough to keep me reading despite the confusion. Apparently this is also going to be a series but I’m not sure if I’ll continue simply because I doubt I’ll remember what happened…! Also because it was confusing. DEF WORTH READING IF YOU LOVE HARD CORE MILITARY SCIFI THOUGH!!!! And just really complex SciFi worlds too.

PS The lead character can totally be read as trans as they end up having a centuries dead general implanted in their consciousness in order for them to be able to command better and have the knowledge of everyone that came before them. They end up becoming more and more like the general despite being a QWOC before the implant. COMPLEX STUFF DUDES.

๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜ย 3 Books!

[img src]

 

THE BLOOD OF OLYMPUS
[THE HEROES OF OLYMPUS #5]
by Rick Riordanย ๐Ÿ”ฑโš”๏ธ๐Ÿ›๏ธ

Not much to say about this thrilling conclusion other than I’m glad everything got tied up!! Honestly this series + the Percy Jackson series are such fun reads that there’s not much to complain about because I just see them as fun! Like eating doritos. But good doritos. I definitely will read Riordan’s other books and series though!! He’s just such a fun writer that doesn’t talk down to kids which I appreciate as an older person reading his books, and I’m sure kids appreciate it too.

๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜ย 4 Books!

[img src]

 

TRANSFORMATION
[WATER #3]
by Kara Dalkeyย โš”๏ธ๐ŸŒŠ๐Ÿ’€

This last installment is consistent with the previous two – fun and fantastical!! I’m a sucker for this kind of late 90s/early 2000s fantasy nonsense, since it was what I was into as a kid. I’m predictable whatever. Anyway, this was a good ending to the series and tied up a lot of loose ends. SPOILERS: I liked how Dalkey tied the series into Arthurian legends, the cover is a dead giveaway if you think of King Arthur. I’M NOT GONNA DO THE MATH FOR YOU, IT’S VERY SIMPLE FRIENDS. When I read it I had a good cackleย cause I wasn’t really expecting it but enjoyed it all the same.

๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜ย 3 Books!

[img src]

 

SHOPLIFTER
by Michael Choย ๐Ÿ›๏ธ๐Ÿชโ˜น๏ธ

A really lovely and touching take on figuring yourself out in your twenties. Since I’m sort of in the same position, I mean I’m doing my masters now so I’m not exactly in the same position, it definitely hit home. I think it’s hard to be a twenty something with an Arts or English background and not feel like the entire of this novel. It’s a good book and a good debut as well, but I don’t know if I’d recommend it to people. The art is lovely though. I will say that!

๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜ย 3 Books!

[img src]

 

THE ONLY CHILD
by Guojingย ๐ŸฆŒโ˜๏ธ๐Ÿ‘ช๐Ÿป

This comic was SOOO TOUCHING. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t tear up towards the end… The art is stunning and it’s simplistic enough that even a child could understand it. I’m not entirely sure if it was even meant to be a kids book or not but I loved it. It really taps into something lonely inside of you so maybe don’t read this if you’re already feeling The Sads.

๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜ย 5 Books!

[img src]

 

THE INEXPLICABLE LOGIC OF MY LIFE
by Benjamin Alire Sรกenzย ๐ŸŒฎ๐Ÿซ๐Ÿ’”

I JUST… I JUST LOVE THE WAY BENJAMIN WRITES. SO. MUCH. His previous book,ย Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universeย was so beautiful that I felt like throwing the book across the room after reading because I was so upset at HOW BEAUTIFUL it was. While I didn’t have the same reaction to this book, it still wrecked me. It really made me feel emotional about all the people I love and care about, like my close friends and my family and especially my sister. This book WILL give you Emotions whether you want them or not.

๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜ย 4 Books!

[img src]

 

AJAX PENUMBRA: 1969
by Robin Sloanย ๐Ÿ“–๐Ÿ›ณ๏ธ๐Ÿ“

I picked this up back home in Singapore at a book sale because I loved the sequel,ย Mr Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore.ย I had NO IDEA that there was a prequel!! Well, actually this is more like an ‘origin’ story for the novel. How Ajax came to be the owner of the 24 hour bookstore and his adventure to get there. That I think is a succinct synopsis of this novella. I would GLADLY read more of this though!!ย But you should totally read the novel first before this!! It won’t be as fun or interesting otherwise.

๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜ย 4 Books!

[img src]

 

A WRINKLE IN TIME: THE GRAPHIC NOVEL
by Madeleine L’Engle & illustrated by Hope Larsonย ๐ŸŒŒโœจ๐Ÿ‘ช๐Ÿป

So I never read Wrinkle in Time. Ever. Not as a kid not as an adult. Instead I decided to check out this illustrated version by Hope Larson instead, especially since I know there’s a film coming out by Ava DuVernay. I also knew going in that this would likely be kinda dated considering when the book came out, bUT I’ve never had an issue with reading heavily dated lit before.

Honestly, I really don’t know what to make of it???? It’s an interesting concept what with the witches or whatever, but it was weirdly religious and the scifi aspect was pretty light too that I’m kinda unsure as to why it was even considered scifi???? It’s just weird religious fantasy, like a modern counterpart to Narnia in someways. Maybe not. IDK. I just didn’t really like it SOZ. I didn’t like Narnia either as a kid but loved it as an older person and I think that was mostly the world building and fantastical element TBH. Like you can sort of ignore the religious aspects in Narnia but in Wrinkle in Time it’s very hard to do that.

Still gonna watch the movie though.

๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜ย 2 Books!

[img src]

 

THE DIVINE
by Asaf & Tomer Hanukaย โ™Š๐Ÿ”ซ๐Ÿ‘น

This has been on my to-read-comics list for AGES now and I finally read it!! Was it worth the wait? Hell yeah. Inspired by a photo of ย real life twin child guerrilla soldiers from Myanmar, these twin artists created a fictional South East Asian country where a civil war is being waged by possibly magical 10 year old twins. It’s bizarre and upsetting and plain weird,ย and 100% worth reading.

๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜ย 4 Books!

[img src]

 

AMBERLOUGH
by Lara Elena Donnellyย ๐Ÿณ๏ธโ€๐ŸŒˆ๐ŸŽญ๐Ÿ•ต๐Ÿผ

TFW you finish a book and the PAIN hits you like a truck but it is also nearly 5am so you are also delirious from not sleeping so everything is more Terrible.

OK SO I got a sample of this book at first from NetGalley and it ended just before Part 2 of the book which is CRIMINAL once you read it. I don’t think I’ve ever bought a book faster. I remember just silently screaming while pressing my Kindle going, WHERE IS THE REST?!?!! WHERE IS IT???? THIS CANNOT BE THE END OF THE SAMPLE!?!?!?!?!!!!!!!!!!1111


[img src: unknown]

MAN OH MAN THIS BOOK THOUGH. It’s like Cabaret + Detective/Spy Noir in an alternate world, set in a city that is reminiscent of 1920/30s Berlin and even France. Long story short, Cyril is a high profile detective and has to become a turncoat in order to save his life and that of his lover, and cabaret performer, Ari. This book also feels quite apt in these modern times seeing as the organisation threatening Cyril are the homophobic and ‘right wing’ one state party, the Ospies.

Anyway Cyril has plans to try and save both him and Ari so they can escape and be together and they end up roping in a dancer from the club that Ari works at, and shenanigans happen and then it all ends in pain and You Die.

I heard there was a sequel coming for this which both relieves me and upsets me. It was a really good ending despite it being painful so I’m not sure if I want a sequel….!! I’ll still read it though.

ย ๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜ย 5 Books!

[img src]

 

One thought on “Monthly Roundup โ†ช Feb/March๐Ÿ˜ต

โ€œEven now I'm not really sure which parts of myself are real and which parts are things I've gotten from books.โ€ - [Beatrice Sparks] Go Ask Alice ๐Ÿƒโ˜•

