Monthly Roundup โ†ช July+Aug๐Ÿ‘€

I spent the month of July home in Singapore, visiting friends and family, and then the rest of August in London attempting to cope with Things. Emphasis on attempt.


[img src: unknown]

MARESI
[THE RED ABBEY CHRONICLES #1]
byย Maria Turtschaninoffย ๐ŸŒ„๐Ÿ‘ญ๐ŸŒ™

Wow this book… was something else. And I mean that in the BEST way possible. It reminded me so much of the 90s second wave feminist YA fantasy by authors like Jane Yolen and I was 100% here for it. It’s such an easy read as well and the writing is incredibly addictive, as are the characters. It’s hard to explain just HOW much I adored this book, it’s about the dangers of patriarchy and honour killings and the strength that women have when united as one, man it’s just, IT’S JUST GREAT OK. JUST READ IT.

๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜ย 5 Books!

[img src]

 

RONIT & JAMIL
by Pamela Laskinย ๐ŸŽญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿšซ

I so much wanted to like this book, love it even, it’s such a lovely concept and the production of the physical book itself is really lovely, but…. Ugh. The book is a retelling of Romeo and Juliet using a boy and girl from Israel and Palestine, told in verse. And I know I’m no poetry connoisseur, let alone do I even understand poetry well enough to critique it, but the poetry in this book legit reads like the kind of garbage you’d right as a 13 year old in English class… It’s that bad… Honestly it’s just very lazy storytelling of what is essentially a very complex situation. Like I said, this book had potential to be really really good, but just fell so incredibly flat. Luckily it’s not a long book at all so if you want to read it you won’t really lose much time…….. But also just don’t bother at all……….

๐Ÿ“˜ 1ย Books!

[img src]

 

PRINCESS JELLYFISH
[2 IN 1 OMNIBUS VOLUME #1]
written & illustrated by Akiko Higashimuraย ๐ŸŽ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ’…

I actually was recommended by a friend to read this series a while back but only got around to doing it during a bout of Bad Brainsโ„ข. I found it online and decided to read it while I was already lying horizontal for several hours staring on my phone. It proved to be a fun and entertaining distraction!! I’m not a regular manga reader so it was a fun change for me. But even though it was fun enough I don’t think I’ll continue the series. It’s not that I didn’t like it, but it just didn’t hold my interest for long enough, like I said, I’m not used to manga and it could just be that!! I do like the idea of this girl being obsessed with jellyfish and then befriending a trans person who then gets her to step out of her comfort zone!

๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜ย 2 Books!

[img src]

 

THE HIDDEN ORACLE
[THE TRIALS OF APOLLO #1]
by Rick Riordanย ๐ŸŒž๐Ÿ›๏ธ๐Ÿน

AS USUAL Riordan cracks me the hell up and lets me enjoy myself for a couple hundred pages and forget how old and cynical I am becoming. Riordan has mastered the art of allowing his big money maker characters to return without being tired and overused, but mostly I just want Percy to have a normal life now lol. LET THE BOY LIVE IN PEACE!!!!! Apollo was just a perfect god for Rick to write. The jokes were so on point and genuinely funny, I even caught myself ACTUALLY giggling in real life as opposed to the inner laugh + smile that everyone does when they say they laughed at a book… Come on, don’t lie. TLDR this book is great for anyone that has enjoyed any of the Riordan series in years past and is a fun and relaxing romp for adults.

๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“˜ ๐Ÿ“˜ ๐Ÿ“˜ย 4 Books!

[img src]
โ€œEven now I'm not really sure which parts of myself are real and which parts are things I've gotten from books.โ€ - [Beatrice Sparks] Go Ask Alice ๐Ÿƒโ˜•

