Monthly Roundup β†ͺ OctπŸŽƒ

WELP. I’m back home in Singapore. FOR GOOD THIS TIME. Having a lot of mixed feelings about it but trying to remain positive, and read as much as possible so I can reach my reading goal!!!!!!!!!!!!!11111111

[img src: unknown]

THE BOOK OF JOAN
by Lydia YuknavitchΒ πŸ’»πŸŒŽπŸ¦Ž

How do I even BEGIN to talk about this book. It’s been some weeks and I still can’t stop thinking about it. This novel is terrifying, and beautiful, and inspiring and upsetting all at the same time. I loved the obvious reference to Joan of Arc as well as Christine de Pizan, the author of ‘The City of Ladies‘. I don’t want to talk too much about the plot as the blurb is pretty succinct at telling you just what you need to know before going in. However I would like to mention that if reading about body horror and sexual assault in detail upsets you, that you should either give this book a pass or proceed with caution.

Anyway, this book If you ask me is probably one of THE BEST books I have read in a very long time. This is the kind of new and exciting SciFi I look for these days. This is the kind of dystopian fiction that excites and terrifies me. The way Lydia writes as well is so entrancing and amazing I just, ahhhh!!!! I CAN’T DESCRIBE. And also the idea of stories written on flesh is so terrifying and ‘erotic’ at the same time, despite the fact that these bodies are devoid of any eroticism at all.

UGH I JUST LOVE THIS FEMINIST SCIFI DYSTOPIA. READ IT PLEASE.

πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜Β 5 Books!

[img src]

 

HENRI ET MARCEL
by Philippa LodgeΒ πŸ‡«πŸ‡·πŸ‘¬πŸ›‹οΈ

After reading The Book of Joan, I really needed to read something light and fun. Luckily I had received this fun novella from NetGalley, which was exactly what I needed. It’s surprisingly historically accurate for what amounts to a cute historical fiction-m/m fluff piece. I also really enjoyed all of the characters??? I kinda want more of Henri and Marcel?!!?!??!!? PLS????????!!!!!!!

πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜Β 3 Books!

[img src]

 

A HOME FOR MR EASTER
by Brooke AllenΒ πŸ‡πŸŽ©πŸŽ’

I spontaneously picked this up while looking for other books in the library and decided to read it then and there as it was short enough. I had no idea what it was about other than a very tall and very strong teenager who believes a rabbit is a magic easter bunny??? It was a cute and amusing enough graphic novel, with really nice art to boot. Not much to say about it other than it was a super quick and fun read, and I’m glad I could read it in the library instead of having bought it… Sorry…. πŸ‘€

πŸ“˜πŸ“˜Β 2 Books!

[img src]

 

SKIM
by Mariko Tamaki & Jillian TamakiΒ πŸš¬πŸ’—πŸ§™β€β™€οΈ

I REALLY love the work by the Tamaki cousins and am on a quest to read ALL OF IT!!!!!!! This is a very realistic take on the life of a queer asian-american teenager that doesn’t fall to damaging tropes, which is SUCH a rarity. As sad as that is.. Divorce, suicide, faith, sexuality, friendship, depression, love, you name it, this graphic novel probably has touched on it. And not in a trivial way at all. This book is 100% worth a read and deserves more attention than it probably receives as just a “generic YA” tale.

πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜Β 4 Books!

[img src]

 

HALF WORLD
[HALF WORLD #1]
by Hiromi Goto & illustrated by Jillian TamakiΒ πŸ€πŸ•³οΈπŸ‘»

I honestly thought this was a graphic novel at first as Jillian Tamaki is credited with illustrations, but nope! This is actually a short YA novel with some illustrations instead! Not even a little bit mad as this was the kind of fun and easy read I wanted for Spooktober. This book had a very Miyazaki feel to it, but like if Guillermo del Toro had control over the looks. The beginning is a bit confusing and wordy, but it starts getting interesting fast, which was good because at that stage I wasn’t really bonding with the character and wasn’t sure if I was going to continue reading. The Half World realm is really creepy and gross, and paired with the few illustrations in the book, it’s quite easy to conjure the images in your mind, which I think really increased my enjoyment of the story. Long story short, I enjoyed it and am glad I was able to find it in my local library! There’s apparently a sequel, but I don’t think I’d read it.

πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜Β 3 Books!

[img src]
β€œEven now I'm not really sure which parts of myself are real and which parts are things I've gotten from books.” - [Beatrice Sparks] Go Ask Alice πŸƒβ˜•

