Monthly Roundup β†ͺ June/JulyπŸ™„

I did not reach as much as I had hope I would, which is very sucky. But! I did get myself into a bit more of a reading swing which is progress as far as I’m concerned. Easing yourself back into enjoying and engaging with a hobby that you love is hard and upsetting because it should be easy, but if it’s been ages, it’s not!! AND IT’S FRUSTRATiNG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

[img source: unknown]

IN THE VANISHERS PALACE | by Aliette de Bodard πŸ‰πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆπŸ₯

Vietnamese inspired Beauty and the Beast retelling but lesbians and shapeshifting and a non binary character??? SIGN ME TF UP!!! I’ve been meaning to read something by de Bodard for AGES so when I got this as an e-arc a while back (that I did not read in time oops) I figured this would be as good place to start.

It takes real talent to write a short story or novella that is so fleshed out, rich and succinct and Aliette definitely is one of these talented few. In less than 200 pages she manages to tackle issues of power relations (and consent which the OG beauty and the beast disney or otherwise, does… not..), gender, and the relationship between poverty and illness. Also kissing monsters. Also I just love HOW GOOD the world building was!! I almost want another story set in the same world, but also I don’t because I feel like this was so perfect in it’s own little bubble that writing more might spoil how perfectly tied up it is.

πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜ 4 Books | [img src]


THE TABLE OF LESS VALUED KNIGHTS | by Marie Phillips βš”οΈπŸ°πŸ˜

I thought I was gonna super enjoy this book as I really loved Phillips’ other book, Gods Behaving Badly, and especially because this book was described as being like ‘Monty Python and The Holy Grail’!! And!! There was apparently a trans character!! But unfortunately it really wasn’t. It was funny at points, but they weren’t like big guffaws and more like a smile or a little ‘ha ha’. It was also a bit slow at points which was why it took me ages to read as I kept putting it down. And as for the trans character? Not really. Without spoiling anything they keep referring to themselves as a female despite presenting as male and they end up being ok with presenting as male but it’s not like they wanted to in the first place… I’d say give this book a miss unless you’re a die hard Arthurian lit fan or maybe a medievalist because then you might enjoy the jokes more than a layman.

πŸ“˜πŸ“˜ 2 Books | [img src]


THE LAMB WILL SLAUGHTER THE LION | by Margaret Killjoy 🦌🀘😱

I really really REALLY love all the shorts and novellas that Tor put out, they almost always manage to be so well written and full bodied in ways that books that go over 400/500 pages TRY to be. This one is no exception!!

Long story short, a queer punk traveler, Danielle, is searching for answers for her best friend’s mysterious suicide, joins an anarchist-utopian squatter town called Freedom. But things are not what they seem as she learns they summoned a protector spirit in the form of a blood red stag to be their judge and executioner. But the protector starts to turn on those who summoned it and so Danielle helps her new friends save the town before it’s too late. And that’s all I will say without spoiling this spooky urban fantasy tale that is under 150 pages.

It really was quite an addicting read and the characters were so believable that I feel I knew people JUST like them. The dialogue at first threw me off till I realised, anarchist/squatter types actually talk like that and I’ve just been around normies for too long lmaooo. Anyway, if you love the Constantine comics or the Supernatural TV show, you should read this!

πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜ 4 Books | [img src]


SUPER EXTRA GRANDE| by Yoss & translated by David Frye πŸ‘¨β€βš•οΈπŸ‘½πŸ˜†

Ok so this book is absolutely hilarious. I’ve seen some people on GR say it’s sexist and misogynistic at parts and those are valid criticisms, but in my opinion they’re not really at the expense of anyone? Like they’re not really punching down but more like punching the air lol…

WELL ANYWAY. It’s set in the distant future where Latin Americans pioneered faster than light travel and everyone speaks Spanglish. The lead character is a Vet who caters to super huge creatures because he himself is a fucking enormous guy and literally was not able to take care of smaller creatures at school because he’d end up hurting them!! So this story follows a rescue mission he’s been tasked with to rescue two of his competing love interests (who were also his employees) in order to prevent a colonial conflict that would threaten the fragile peace between the galaxy’s seven intelligent species. Except. the two people. are literally stuck in side the BIGGEST creature in the UNIVERSE. I’m talking like a massive planet sized single cell organism kind of creature.

It was really neat to read a book that was in english but still heavy on the spanish with the idea that that was just how everyone speaks in the future regardless of where they’re from. Example: “Gimme algo de data, assistant.. SegΓΊn the map, diez more minutes, y I should be coming out the back end.. Pero if I don’t have Mrs. Tarkon’s precious platinum bracelet, tengo miedo que I might be better off quedΓ‘ndome in here.” Perfect for fans of Douglas Adams and anyone who enjoys silly scifi. Also the author is a biologist so you know the science is legit.

πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜πŸ“˜ 5 Books | [img src]

β€œEven now I'm not really sure which parts of myself are real and which parts are things I've gotten from books.” - [Beatrice Sparks] Go Ask Alice πŸƒβ˜•

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.