Creatures of the Night for Hungry Ghost Month [Book Tag]

I found this book tag sitting in my drafts, so I’ve decided to fill it out! Especially since Hungry Ghost Month is coming up soon… πŸ‘ΉπŸ‘»πŸ‘Ί

Book tag-list things are always fun and sometimes make me realise that I’ve been missing out on certain genres, or themes in my reading!!!

 

πŸ‘½πŸ˜±πŸ’€ VAMPIRE πŸ‘»πŸ‘ΉπŸŒ›

[img src]

Gonna go with the American Vampire comics, only because I’d be super basic and a parody of myself if I went with ol’ Drac‘ by B-Stokes.

 

πŸ‘½πŸ˜±πŸ’€ WEREWOLF πŸ‘»πŸ‘ΉπŸŒ›

[img src]

So I don’t read a lot of fiction with werewolves??? Oh well. Most of it these days is weird paranormal romance that I do NOT jive with. So for this one I’ve gone with Wake of Vultures, because otherwise I would have gone with Prisoner of Azkaban from Harry Potter because Remus. DONT @ ME. Read my previous review here!

 

πŸ‘½πŸ˜±πŸ’€ ZOMBIE πŸ‘»πŸ‘ΉπŸŒ›


[img src]

I am not a zombie person at ALL. I dunno, I just find it kinda boring?? No offense to everyone else who loves zombie tales, I’m just not into them. But I did enjoy Boneshaker when I read it way back when, so that’s my choice for this category.

 

πŸ‘½πŸ˜±πŸ’€ GHOST πŸ‘»πŸ‘ΉπŸŒ›


[img src: unknown]

For this one I’m going with the graphic novel, Anya’s Ghost. It’s a cute YA comic about feeling like the odd one out, in more ways than one!!

 

πŸ‘½πŸ˜±πŸ’€ WITCH/WARLOCK/SPELLCASTER πŸ‘»πŸ‘ΉπŸŒ›

[img src: unknown]

AKATA WITCH!!!! YES!!!!!! I love this book so much, it’s like everything I ever wanted from a non-western Harry Potter inspired novel. Well insofar that it’s about a trio of kids learning to harness their magical powers and encountering the magical world and fighting baddies. It’s gr9. CAN’T WAIT TO READ THE SEQUEL. But also I’ll slide in The Witch Sea because lesbian witch falling in love with a sea creature lady. Read my previous review for ‘The Witch Sea’ here! + My previous review for ‘Akata Witch’ here!

 

πŸ‘½πŸ˜±πŸ’€ FAIRY/FAE πŸ‘»πŸ‘ΉπŸŒ›


[img src]

I’m gonna go with The Hollow Kingdom trilogy for this category, because I don’t really read anything to do with fairies. Unless they’re bad fairies?? IDK. I love fantasy but I tend to go for genre-bending fantasy or DRAGONS. I love dragons. ANYWAY. The Hollow Kingdom trilogy is about trolls and goblins and beneath the earth dwelling folk. But if I remember correctly there are elf types later on in the books??? I just really loved reading that YA series some years ago, it was exactly what I needed as a comfort read. β™₯

 

πŸ‘½πŸ˜±πŸ’€ DEMON πŸ‘»πŸ‘ΉπŸŒ›

[img src]

I was gonna go with Hellboy, since he’s my forever boy, bUT I decided to go with Seneschal Zhu Irhz in Liz Williams Detective Inspector Chen series. I’d pay good money to see big red and Zhu Irhz have a sass off.

 

πŸ‘½πŸ˜±πŸ’€ ANGEL πŸ‘»πŸ‘ΉπŸŒ›

[img src: unknown]

Wow I didn’t realise how few books there were that I’ve read that are about or have angels in them…?! I’m not sure what this says about me… Both the books I came up with were by Neil Gaiman, Neverwhere and Good Omens… Both are good books anyway and the angels in them are cool peoples.

 

πŸ‘½πŸ˜±πŸ’€ ALIEN πŸ‘»πŸ‘ΉπŸŒ›

[img src: unknown]

Everyone applaud me, I didn’t choose a Star Trek novel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m going with the amazing and unique series of The Search for WondLa!!!! There are aliens and robots and tardigrades, yes the water bears that went to space!!!!! I absolutely love this series and I totally want to buy it and own it one day. β™₯ Read my previous review here!

 

πŸ‘½πŸ˜±πŸ’€ SUPER-POWERED HUMAN πŸ‘»πŸ‘ΉπŸŒ›


[img src]

This book was honestly so so so fun to read!! I can probably count on one hand the amount of novels I’ve read that are about super-powered humans in contemporary settings, since usually those kinds of stories are reserved for comics, in my own reading at least. What also makes Dreadnought different from the rest is that it’s a really neat take on the transformation a person makes into becoming a super-hero, both literally and emotionally! Read my previous review here! Not spoiler: the superhero is trans.

β€œEven now I'm not really sure which parts of myself are real and which parts are things I've gotten from books.” - [Beatrice Sparks] Go Ask Alice πŸƒβ˜•

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.